Review // In a New York Minute

In a New York Minute is a fun story with a delightful premise that unfortunately falls a little short in the chemistry department.

Synopsis

A clever, tender, and romantic novel for readers of Christina Lauren, Jasmine Guillory, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen…In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?

My Thoughts

In a New York Minute was a bit of a mixed bag for me. The things I enjoyed, I really loved, but the things that didn’t work for me were significant enough that I wasn’t able to truly lose myself in the story. The things I loved: 

The dual perspective narration, especially with respect to Hayes. The seemingly aloof and more reserved character can often come off as cold in these types of stories, so the dual perspective really allowed us to get a sense of who Hayes was from the get go. 

The immaculate 90s-era rom-com vibes. NYC felt like just as much a character as Franny and Hayes themselves, evoking some serious Nora Ephron circa You’ve Got Mail nostalgia.

Where IANYM ultimately fell a bit flat for me was in the lack of chemistry or connection I felt between Franny and Hayes. Their interactions were so cute and indeed, the two were sweet together and were definitely flirtatious, but I never felt that spark between them that I’d hoped to see. And the conflict was so unnecessary and inane, I almost threw my book down in frustration. 

Ultimately, IANYM has a fantastic premise and set-up, features great dual perspective narration, and is reminiscent of 90s-era rom-coms, but the execution fell a bit short for me. Still, it was enjoyable for the most part and I could see a lot of folks really loving this one!

Read This If

  • You enjoy a delightfully disastrous meet cute
  • You’re nostalgic for Nora Ephron rom-coms (similar to You’ve Got Mail)
  • You enjoy opposites-attract romances
☆ ☆ ☆ ½ / 5
Find all my reviews on Instagram | Goodreads

I received a gifted copy of this book from the publisher. This has not impacted or influenced my review or opinions.

DISCLAIMER: This post contains affiliate links and I may receive a small commission if you make a purchase using the links, at no extra cost to you. You can find my full disclaimer here.

Leave a Reply

1 Comments

@thehireader

%d bloggers like this: